Yearly Training Plans for Jumpers

Posted In: The Classics

Participant
    B Hobbs on #15654

Been doing some research….

Participant
    K Rackley on #82074

No weight room, or is that a given?

It seems pretty good (although I’m a novice in training).

Participant
    B Hobbs on #82078

This is just on the track work

Nick Newman
    Participant
    Nick Newman on #82079

General periodation model is decent…

i’d drop end bounding before the comps start…

Participant
    B Hobbs on #82081

yeah it is very general but figured I would share.

That is interesting that you would drop all bounding type drills. I feel that bounding is a skill that can easily be lost if not continually trained. Plus it is vital for the triple jump. I also think the skipping which i normally do over power hurdles (which is grouped in with bounding) is important for timing and rhythm of the penultimate and pulling through take off needed in all jumping events.

When looking at this…it is for all jumpers (high, long, triple, vault) outside of technical work and weightroom.

Participant
    B Hobbs on #82082

This is my first time sharing my training on this board and would like to see what other coaches have as well….general guidelines to training…I love to compare and contrast what I am doing vs others

Nick Newman
    Participant
    Nick Newman on #82083

Well, i have TONS and TONS of research on LJ training from all over the world. (I’m writing a book on it)

So feel free to ask stuff if you like…

I wouldn’t drop bounding. I would drop endurance bounding…during comps i would only use what i call specific bounding (see bounding thread) which is much more specific, faster, less volume and higher intensity.

I like your program. Looks very simular to a european style (i used to train that way). So with some fine tuning i think it would be very good…

Participant
    B Hobbs on #82088