Roswell’s 110mH Olympic Trials Training Log

Posted In: Training Journals

Participant
    Roswell on #18256

Hey everybody, my name’s Ross and I’m a 110 hurdler currently training out of Southern California for a spot in the Olympic trials.
    Here are some general stats of mine:
    Height: 6’4″
    Weight: currently 196 lbs
    110mH: 14.06 (3/23/12)
    100m: 10.82 (4/16/11)
    Parallel Box Squat: 435 lbs
    Deadlift: 500 lbs
    Hang Clean: 265 lbs
    SLJ: 3.25
    STJ: 8.94
    Overhead Backwards: 16.53
    Underhand Forwards: 15.75

I’m 23, and this is my first year competing after graduating from the University of Redlands. In my senior year in college, I was able to become the DIII NCAA runner-up in the 110mH, and come in fourth in the 4x100m with my team. In high school, I only ran 15.41 in the 39″ hurdles, and in my first year of college I ran 15.71 over 42″, so I’ve come a fairly long way from that point. I was very nervous about this season, as I’ve done all my lifting and running programming myself, but it has actually gone very well so far, as my 110H PR last year was 14.32, and I’ve only had 2 meets so far this season. I train out of my University, which has a Mondo track, and I have a part time job coaching there, so it leaves me ample time to train and an ideal environment to do so.