Barry, Barry, Barry…

Posted In: Blog Discussion

• Mike Young
    Keymaster
    Mike Young on #13616

If you're a fan of quasi-pseudo-science you may find the following blog posts from Barry Ross interesting: My Theories…Hardly, Part 1  My Theories…Hardly, Part 2  The first of those picks on none other than yours truly as a young technique guru. In it Barry says,Let's start with a theory proposed by one of the younger technique gurus. His theory suggests that a runner can be

Continue reading…

ELITETRACK Founder

Participant
    tj84 on #71099

I would like to start this off saying I will most likely be wrong about numerous thoughts of "common sense" that I am going to propose in this post.  Please refute anything wrong that I say, I have no pride, it's fine.  I would like to see some discussion going on about this post. 

First off, I am an expert in nothing track and field, nor strength training for that matter.  All I know is what I've read (which is a lot) and the things I've done/tried out (which is a lot).  I have not read Mr. Ross' book, I did read the sample of it on his website though.  This morning I also read the entire "battle" between Mr. Ross and Mike/others on the technique post, all 7 pages of it.  Here are some opinions/questions I have on Mr. Ross' training methods as well as other ideas.

1.  Allyson Felix was greatly blessed from birth and would have been a world class sprinter without the deadlifts in high school. 

Mr. Ross asked why Allyson hasn't beat her best time from high school.  Some athletes have 1 or 2 standout years and then they can't come close to that standard even without changing their workouts.  Example: Jonathan Edwards, 1995 and some of 1996.  He was good his entire career, but why the huge jumps those years?  Allyson may have had her "good year".  I doubt it, but it is possible.  I don't think his lifting program had much to do with it. 

2. Why the emphasis on vertical forces/training?